Infernal Devices Review

I've been reading Cassandra Clare's books recently and read them in the recommended order which is the first three Mortal Instruments books, The Infernal Devices, and the last three Mortal Instruments books. This series consists of Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, and Clockwork Princess.

The series takes place in 1878 and follows Tessa Gray, who lives in New York and is going to live with her brother Nate in England after their aunt passes away. When she arrives though, she's kidnapped and is trained to control a power she didn't know she had, the ability to change into another person if she's holding one of the person's possessions. From there she finds herself entangled in the Downworld, the world that humans can't see. It's filled with werewolves, vampires, faeries, warlocks, demons, and shadowhunters. The series follows Tessa dealing with her newfound ability and with now being caught up in the Downworld.

This series was hard to get into after reading about the shadowhunter world in the present day, but once you get into it the books are so hard to put down. I loved seeing the ancestors of characters from TMI being brought to life with their stories told.

The characters were just as wonderful as those in The Mortal Instruments and I was brought into the same world as TMI but it was just 140 years earlier.

The story told is another beautiful work just like TMI, and I found myself to enjoy it just a bit more than TMI to be honest. I highly recommend these to anybody who has read The Mortal Instrument, and to those who haven't either!


Popular posts from this blog

Death Wish Review

Godsgrave Review (SPOILER WARNING)

June Releases and TBR